Beautiful People – Arch Angel

 

You all know how NaNoWriMo is. November rolls around and a scenario like this inevitably pops up with one or more family members:

But then excitement quickly sets in (after the initial shock wears off) and you dive headfist into the cold, exhilarating waters of National Novel Writing Month.

1. Sum up your novel in five words, or less.  Redemption. Honestly,  I only need one word.

2. Novel title? Arch Angel
 
3. Sum up your main character(s) in one word. Varying.
 
4. Advice for newbies in three words? Read, watch, write!!!
 
5. Tell us about your secondary characters, how do they affect the story? My secondary characters honestly have morphed into becoming the main characters. I didn’t mean for it to happen, but somehow Simon and Reese overtook Gabriel and Hannah. Still, they wouldn’t mind me telling you about them. Simon is Brit AND a cop; he’s quiet, has a very dry, sarcastic sense of humor, and is scarred from an abusive childhood. However, his encouragement and loyalty are pivotal to the book; he’d be willing to do anything to save Gabriel and Reese. Reese is a spunky redhead who’s too stubborn for her own good. She’s prone to fits of childishness, but makes up for it by being plucky (yes. Plucky) and relying on her faith in God to get them through. She’s the female ‘spice’ of the book; witty, a little bit explosive, and very human.
 
6. Do you plan on staying up till midnight on the 31st? Oh goodness. I’m probably going to sit and write until my eyeballs dry out!! (Much to the annoyance of my longsuffering family members 😉
 
7. How many years have you done NaNo? This is my third year. The first year, I won; but I had no plot. The second year, my novel sort of putzed out. And this year… well, I’m on a roll!
 
8. What came first, characters, or plot idea? Characters, actually. Well, really a name – Gabriel Singer. Everything else sort of fell into place.
 
9. How much prep do you do before November? I do a fair amount; I plot out as much as  I can, garner ideas, cast my book, sketch out small scenes. I do the fun stuff 🙂
 
10. Now be honest, how do you really feel about NaNoWriMo? I LOVE it! To be honest last year I wasn’t that into it, but years 1 and 3 have been amazing. I’m so pumped about the whole thing – it’s honestly a blast. I even like the desperate, gasping stretch to try and finish 2,000 words a day – though I’ve reached 20,000 words and I’m only on day 7, so I think I’m pretty safe. Not that I’m going to let myself peter out. 😉
 
Oh; and you also have to cheer for the way you’re constantly sitting at the computer, hunched over, typing at 100 words per minute, and the rest of the family is trying to get you to engage in what they like to call reality, and you’re like “No, I’m too busy writing! I’ll see you in December! What, food? No thanks!” And they’re like
 
 
10 thoughts on “Beautiful People – Arch Angel

  1. That end graphic had me laughing my head off. That’s exactly how my family and I were in my first year of NaNo, but now I’m doing most of my writing at school. School is probably my least favorite place to write because it’s so dull (boy, do I miss being home schooled), but it beats studying!

    • *laughs* I know; I thought it was totally perfect because it’s so TRUE!!
      AAWW; I’m sorry!!! I didn’t know you’d switched to public school! That’s a drag; but hey, there are more opportunities to Shine for Christ, right? 😉

  2. I love your last graphic too! 😀 It fit your scenario so…perfectly!! 😀
    My Nano novel is steadily getting worse, probably cause I told everyone I loved it “so far”. And I’ve been getting sidetracked way too much. But hey, I’ve got 20 K!

Got something to say?

