NaNoWriMo ’11

So yes, I am doing NaNoWriMo again. And I’m VERY excited about it! Not simply because I’ve come up with a stunning, dazzling plot. Not simply because I have a super-star trillion-dollar cast. Not because I made a trailer for it which I’m rather excited about…

but because it’s my first official attempt at writing a thriller. I’m hoping for something a little Ted DekKer-ish…

If you want to know more, you can see my NaNo pageΒ  Here. Β I’m scheduled to write for five hours a day, not including lunch. My brain is going to be tired. My fingers, moreso. But I am one happy girl!

The first year I did NaNo, waaay back in ’09, I accomplished the 50,000 word goal, but had not plot. Last year for the ’10 I had something of a plot, but only got about 20,000 word into it. In the words of a hippie somewhere, “I just wasn’t feelin’ it.”

This year, however, I have both plot AND passion, and I am really!really!really!really! excited. I’m sure my family isn’t, seeing as how I hog the computer all November. (At least I’m taking a break all through December, guys!)

Dramatis Persona

Antagonists

Gabriel Singer

Simon Wallace:

Reese Carpenter

Hannah Fairfield

Antagonists

Seth Nicholson:

Luther Conway:

Ethan Cooper

Violet Leigh

OH; and something unrelated –

a picture of Benedict Cumberbatch as Sherlock from the BBC miniseries that I love πŸ™‚

The Game is on!!

~ Mirriam

37 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo ’11

  1. The MASTER! You’re using the MASTER?! And he’s a GOOD GUY? *swoons* I call first dibs on reading this tale when you finish. K?

    Ooh ooh! And Rose (as a bad guy?! Brilliant!). And Amy (still good). I’m sensing a Doctor Who-ish cast… πŸ˜‰

    All the luck to you dear friend. I can’t wait to read more about it, or perhaps read it myself. =)

    In Christ,
    Emily Ann

    P.S. You still can keep the Master. He’s too evil. He needs morals.

    • HAHAHA I KNOW, RIGHT?? You can’t swoon over him, that’s MY job!!! You’ll LOVE him, though. You’ll seriously love him. He’s SO sweet *swoons* YES! Rose as a bad guy! I think she’ll be perfect. You’ll just hate her. >:) I had to use Amy. I was actually GOING to use Scarlett Johansson, because I wanted a redhead, but then I switched Simon’s character and she wouldn’t work. And I went “redhead… redhead… KAREN GILLAN!” XD
      Thank you so much!! I was HOPING you’d want to read it!!!
      OK.
      The Master is mine.
      Can you IMAGINE him with MORALS???? *collapses in a dead faint from imagined awesomeness*

      • I can swoon over who I want Miss. You might get paid for it but I do it for free. People tend to like people who do things for free better any how. πŸ˜‰ haha

        NaNoWriMo is going to be soooooo much fun this year. So many good stories are being written!!! I’m so excited.

        The Master is still yours. I’m not trying to steal him. I could be…. your um, sidekick in all things Master related. Yeah sounds good to me.
        Him with morals= ❀ (was going to write out a very complicated description on how I feel but I think simple is best.)

        • MWAHAHAHA, fine, whatever. I’ll swoon and you can just lie there and… gasp. XD
          NANOWRIMOI’MSOEXCITED! Don’t forget to add me as a buddy!
          The Master IS mine. OH yes, yo ucan be my Master sidekick!!! Master with Morals. *swoons yet again* OH YEAH!

          • GASPING?! ALL YOU GIVE ME IS GASPING?! *mock temper tantrum* I will be the best gasper anyone’s ever seen. *gasps* πŸ˜‰

            You’ve been my buddy forever Mirriam! I don’t really feel the need to add you again.

            YAY! Mirriam’s Master sidekick it is then. *gasps for effect* Him with morals. *gasps* ;D

            P.S. I’m jealous of all your words you have so far. *pouts and gasps* 6,533 in your last update. {sarcasm} Shame on you. Shame on you. {end sarcasm} XD

    • XD Apparently the modern version is ‘the game is on’ since ‘afoot’ sounds a little too old-fashioned XD I mean, if Sherlock has an iPhone, saying ‘afoot’ wouldn’t quite sound the same. XD

  2. I want the Sherlock drawing!!!! I am dying for the new series!!!
    On a NaNoWriMo note, I am doing it too! I had planned to do an assasin story, but now I have a historical fiction on the Oregon Trail. maybe I’ll do both!!!

    • HAHA I’M SO GLAD YOU LIKE IT!!! I’m dying for the new series TOO!!! AAACK! HOW COULD THEY LEAVE US CLIFFHANGING LIKE THAT!?
      Ohhhhh, congratulations!! Add me on NaNo, would you!? ASSASSINS! Gotta love ’em πŸ™‚ NO WAY! I considered doing a historical Oregon Trail fiction, too!!! O.O

      • I know!!! (Moriarty just rubs me wrong, yet I just can’t wait! Especially since Russell Tovey’s in it! And the girl who played Isabella in Robin Hood.)
        I’ll definitely add ya! Assassins ARE awesome! And seriously? Well, mine has an Irish immigrant, and I picked Cillian Murphy to play him. Oh, and an Indian raid. (Just how much do we think alike?) What does yours have?

        • I KNOW!!! Russel Tovoy – Alonso from Dr. Who!!!! ^.^ So cool! And Isabella – I hope I like her better as Irene Adler than as Isabella. XD I really *despise* her as Isabella.
          Well, technically, it was going to be a re-written version of a half-page-long true story I heard once about an ugly girl with flaming red hair and the Indian who fell in love with her. It was an awesome story – even better because it was true!! – and I still claime rights to the rewrite. XD Yours sounds absolutely awesome! CILLIAN MURPHY!? EEWW; he’s creepy!! Well, I’m only saying that becasue the only thing I’ve really seen him in (aside from Inception clips) is Batman Begins, and he plays the evil villain =D

          • Exactly! Cillian needs a protagonist role rather than a villian. I think he’d be very good as a grieving husband. I’ve always thought he’s too handsome to be evil. (Thinks of a pair of dreamy baby blue eyes and Irish accent) πŸ˜›
            I’ve only seen Russel in Little Dorrit, as John Chivery the turnkey’s son. He was so cute and cried a lot. (Poor John…)
            You’re Oregon trail story sounds less cliche as mine. I would definitely be interested in reading it!

  3. Well, have a jolly good time! I hope you meet your word goal and more πŸ™‚
    I most likely won’t be doing NaNo this year… 😦 I want to, but I have art stuff to do and all that (which I very much enjoy)… perhaps I’ll do it in another month πŸ˜€

    • I certainly WILL have a jolly good time!! *chortles* AAWW; I wish you could 😦 That would be so awesome πŸ˜‰ Yeah, there’s JuNoWriNo – you do it in June rather than November =D

  4. Mirriam? What’s your username on Nano? I’m doing it for the first official time this year, and I’m trying to find the people I know. πŸ˜€ But they either aren’t doing it, or not answering my comment 😦 So..help! Please! I’m so alone x)

    ~Monica

  5. yay nano! I’m doing a rewrite this year and it’s gonna be tough for me (long story, don’t ask) and I had to make a new account on nano so I will have to add you as a buddy again ^-^

      • oh I know I’m not gonna get it done in a month. just hoping to get the framework up. psh, took me four years to write it and half a second for it to get deleted on that evil flash drive of… evil! *glares* (needless to say I don’t use flash drives for my stories anymore) but I’m getting reacquainted with the characters and hoping for some new inspiration.

  6. Niiiiiiiccceee. >.<
    Good cast, wot wot!

    Hey – just curious – are you going to mention anything about our trip? You don't *have* to… I was just wondering. ^.^

      • Happily, I found the comment notification e-mail in my trash folder (I’m not sure how it got there); otherwise I might not have seen this. πŸ™‚

        My brother said you sent him a copy of your book via e-mail or something like that….speaking of which, how’s your book coming along? I remember reading some chapters before, but I don’t remember how much you’d written at that time.

        I’m not really supposed to e-mail girls (I’m not positive, but there might be exceptions if you wanted me to read your book or something like that), but you can read some of my unimpressive attempts at poetry (freeverse since I can’t get rhyming lines to sound good) with some of the photos on my Flickr photostream – I like to have words go with phtis that have a meaning behind them…
        http://www.flickr.com/photos/fightforthelight/

        I’ve hardly been on Blogger at all recently, but I’m going to try to write a post about the NCFIC Gospel-Centered Marriages for a Glorious Church Conference I went to with my family last week.

  7. I KNOOOW that! I’m saying – it’s not KOREAN. >..>
    I’ll get ’em, I’LL GET ‘EM! *stomps off*

    ^.^
    -hannah
    P.S. I like your new blog style!

Got something to say?

