In the words of Samwise Gamgee, “Well… I’m back!”

L-R:  Marriah, Mac, Dad,  Yours Truly

(This time with Mom!)

I’m back from vacation!

And let me tell you; it was FUN.

On the first day, we woke up about about 4:00 and left at 5:00 in the morning. I didn’t do much sleeping – I love car trips, they provide such a great excuse to write, read, draw, or listen to music while not having to worry about anything else. I also love stopping at different places for coffee. We arrived at the resort, which was old (Keaghan; you won’t believe this, but the floors were puce, the walls were a sickly sort of mint green, and the color scheme was eerily like that in our story.) In spite of the insane designer who was in charge of colors, it was a very nice and comfortable suite ^_^

On the first day, the weather was unbearably hot and humid, and we decided to walk down to the Boardwalk in search of a place to eat. (The heat made things a tad bit miserable, but we still had fun, I believe). Racing down the sand and through the waves was so much fun!!

We also went to Ripley’s Believe-it-or-Not museum; since I was little I’ve been fascianted by the books. I wouldn’t ever go in the museum again, even if I DID get some good book ideas.

Downtown Myrtle Beach livens up at night; it’s when all the shops open up and people line up on either side of the street, calling to try and convince you to come in and 1. get a tattoo, 3. buy some cheap jewelwry and/or clothing, or 3. get something somewhere pierced. Needless to say,  I took up no offers; though the experience was fun. (One guy tried to pursuade my sister and I to come in and get henna tattoos. My mom gave him a ‘mother’ look which shut up him for a bit, but as we disappeared down the street he shouted “They’re TEMPORARY!”)

The next morning we slept in a bit, had breakfast (did you know people in South Carolina have a hard time making a good cup of coffee? I’m not sure why, but they d0) and I had a delicious omelette. The weather was PERFECT; not too hot, not too humid, and a breeze.

More running along the beach, visiting stores – and we visited WonderWorks! THAT was a blast (we all agreed it was much more fun than Ripley’s). In case you were wondering, I’m fairly strong for a girl my age (taught this by several ‘strength-tester’ machines), I have no sense of balance or co-ordination (tought this by half a dozen things) and I am a FIERCE Terminator Salvation player. I get MEAN. And I discovered I like playing Terminator Salvation more than SkiBall.

Go figure. I guess I like shooting things.

We played LaserTag, which was a BLAST. We got geared up little red lights were zapping everyone everywhere; I got 1275 points. WOOHOOOO!  Not bad for my first try. I honestly could have done better, but people were shooting at ME, which was very inconsiderate of them,  I thought.

After WonderWorks we explored a little shopping area, and – oddly enough – my favorite part was the DEVO Olive Oil company. Who knew there were so many different flavors!? My favorites were:

Olive Oil

Peach

Blueberry

Vanilla

Vinegar

Espresso

Strawberry

Blackberry

We came home with several bottles of olive oils to make our salad dressings with. (Homemade salad dressings beat storebought ones by a MILE. In case you wondered.)

For dinner, we went to the new Pirate Adventure Dinner Show, which was AWESOME. Like Medieval Times, but with pirates. There was a floor show of two pirate fellows (one of whom looked and sounded EERILY like Robin duNoir, which pleased my sister and myself immensely – he even had the black eyeliner, for crying out loud!) – and I had the most delicious cappucchino I’ve ever had in my life.

Then we were moved to our seating – front and center! – for the actual dinner and show. We were on the Sapphire team, so we BOOOED very loudly for the Scarlet team and CHEEERED very loudly for our home team. Dinner consisted of vegetable soup, a cheesy biscuit, half a chicken, a piece of pork, mashed potatoes, corn on the cob, and an apple pastry.

We also had the best acrobat of them all;  a very good-looking, very tall, very athletic pirate with more stage presence and charm than one sole person whould have. He was everyone’s favorite, and I made a complete (but hilarious) fool of myself at one point. He had a habit of walking in front of the tables and either talking or gesturing to the diners. Well, he walked up to me at one point and began flirting rather openly, to the great amusement of my brother.

I was completely nonplussed, and the only thing I could think was “Oh, um” and laugh.

It wasn’t until later that my *dear* brother informed me I had said it out loud.

Yep; the story of my life – but we still had a marvelous time.

On the third day we woke up early, walked to Starbucks, grabbed some drinks, and spent the morning in awe of the sunrise on the beach. The water was a pale, silvery-blue and the sky was almost the same color blue, but streaked with pink and peach clouds. It was amazing. I talked a lot with my sister, wrote in the sand, scavanged for seashells of which there weren’t many, having been picked over by early-morning beachcombers.

My sister and I also saw an absolute DOUBLE of Adam Young (Owl City). If Adam were married and had a little kid, I would have completely thought it was him and probably asked for an autograph.

And then… it was time to go.

We packed up and said good-bye to Myrtle Beach. On the way home we stopped at ‘Sparky’s’ (like Wall Drug, but less so). They advertised ‘clean bathrooms’ every fifty feet along the highway.

They lie.

However, they had the most DELICIOUS peanut-butter-fudge (made with molassass and honey!) I’ve ever tasted in my life. It was melt-in-your-mouth yummy, and we didn’t get enough of it. (Two and a half pieces. Psh.) I REALLY wanted to try their mint-chocolate-chip fudge…. but it was probably too sugary 🙂 I splurged enough on vacation as it was!

When we got back home, our dog Shasta was so excited to see us she nearly combusted. Auntie (who watched the house while we were gone) said that the dog was a puddle of dejection the entire time we were gone. She’s a very sensitive pupper, and thinks we’ve abandoned her every time we step out the door.

Nonetheless, she survived, along with our fish Pepper Face, and we are once again settled back in our own house.

Life is good ♥

‘Twas a windy day!

Myself and my sister by a Transformer at Ripley’s.

SkiBall is more intense than one would think…

But not NEARLY as intense as Terminator Salvation!!!

DIE, evil robots, DIE!!! And I’m not sure what my sister is doing with her mouth…

A happy family at the beach (sans Dad, the photographer)

My brother and my sister. Life is an endless chase XD

Credendo Vides,

Mirriam

23 thoughts on “In the words of Samwise Gamgee, “Well… I’m back!”

  1. AAAAHHH! Your HAIR! 0.0 I actually like it, believe it or not. ^.^ I wasn’t sure if I would! =D (You looks like the female Vik killing people………) “Hey MR. Black!” XD

    Anyway – COOL! Love the beach photos – I wanna go to the beach!!!!!!!!!! *sniff* We actually went to Myrtle Beach when I was liiiiitttle. Maybe you guys were at the same place! (Creepy, isn’t it? *snicker*)

    Amazing! (((hugs))) Glad you’re back safe and sounds!!! (Nathan just said ((((thugs))))….)

    Love ya!
    – Han

  2. Awwwwww that is so AWESOME!! way better than my vacation went. Mine was a blast, but my mother got sick so.
    I love love LOVE! the photos. and your brother sounds like a hoot. XD

    Yeah, I ah, I ended up talking my dad into letting me get a henna rose on my foot. Mom was not happy. and I marked over it with a marker every time it faded. It lasted 2 1/2 months. Heh heh heh. Anyway, glad you’re back! I’m so jealous.
    Sidenote: Did you ever visit this cute little boardwalk thing that has a joes crab shack, and it’s right next door to Alligator Adventures? We went there. I looooove those alligators. XD

    • Aw; I’m sorry your mom got sick 😦 When Mom doesn’t feel good, nobody feels good =D My brother, my brother… I love him, though =D
      AHAHA; that sounds like fun!!! Two and a half months?? Not BAD! Niice!
      We went to the boardwalk, yes!!! I didn’t see Alligator Adventures, though 😦

  3. AHHHHHHHHH! How fun! It sounds like you had a blast- and your pictures are beautiful 🙂 You are a very lovely lass, m’dear! And our hair is the same(ish) now tooooooo!
    Didja get me letter?

  4. Sounds FUN!

    While you were off having a blast, I started school. :/

    The time for rushed days, full of homework and teachers and assigned reading has returned. (And why is it that assigned reading is always so much worse? The book may be fabulous if you read it on your own, but assigned? You hate it. I always wondered about that.)

  5. Mirri, It looks like you had an absolute blast!!! I LOVED all of the pictures. (Your hair is super cute, BTW)

    I will reply to your emails and letter soon… *grins sheepishly*

    Love ya, girl!
    xoxoxo,
    Cassie

  6. I love your hair cut. It looks so good on you!

    Your trip sounds loads of fun! I haven’t been to Myrtle Beach in FOREVER (like 4 years), instead my family has gone to the lake or Panama City(<3).

    Speaking of the lake, did I ever send you the info? I can't remember if I did or not…

    In Christ,
    Emily Ann

  7. Yes! Great talking to you, too!
    *giggle*
    We are soooooo gonna have to escapade in October. ^.^
    Yes, Nathan said “thugs” – an’ I’ll tell him! (Me and my thugs/gangsters/hoodlums/people with dark pasts trying to straighten up/smiling angels that hide their fear/rough people with beautiful heart inside…. yeah… that kinda thang. *grin*)

  8. MIRRIAM!!! I’M HOME!!! *glomp*

    😀 That is hilarious that your suite looked like our *ahem* wonderful characters’ apartment. (I haven’t finished my next bit yet, but I’ll try to finish it tomorrow and send it to you. :D)

    Looks like you guys had a blast! (And your hair is adorable! So curly!) Love the pictures. It’s so fun to see you and your family in pictures now that I have voices to put with them. 😉

    Love ya!

    ~Keaghan

Got something to say?

