They say I’m innocent, but I know better

An email I received today from Stephanie Morril at Go Teen Writers

I’m so glad you participated in this round’s writing prompt. Congratulations on making the top 20 entries! This round’s writing contest has been posted. 

 

 Below is a copy of your entry as well as your feedback from the judges:

They say I’m innocent, but I know better. Behind these wide blue eyes, under this curly, blond head of hair, is a mind that would have made the worst criminal in history look like a child play-acting. They don’t know the plans I write down in crayola Razzleberry. They have no idea that when I’m airily humming, pounding tunelessly on the piano, I intend to drive them insane. I want to pull the cat’s tail. I want to smash glass. I want to set things on fire… but they have no idea. How can they? I’m only five years old.

HONORABLE MENTION: I like the wry sense of humor and the words chosen – the worst criminal looking like a child playacting; the plans written in crayola Razzleberry; the airily humming. The paragraph flows nicely, with no wasted words. The character’s personality shines through and is made vivid, also with no wasted words. And I love the twist that the narrator is only five years old. Well, of course! That makes everything that came before make perfect sense. Wonderful! Again, thank you and hope to see you enter again!

YAAAY; they liked it!! Stephanie told me not to worry; the prompt lent itself to creepy. 🙂 Apparently I’m fairly decent at writing creepy. Who knew??

14 thoughts on “They say I’m innocent, but I know better

      • Thank you! I like hanging around.

        Also– another good tip for maps and bedrooms. So, today my sister was looking for a map at our favorite travel place, which, naturally also has guide books. And those fold out maps. My family has traveled around Europe a lot, so we have a lot of those. So, when I got home, I went into the drawer that we hold them all in, and picked some out. I got maps for my bedroom, basically free of charge!

  1. Congrats Mirri! I thought that it was great too!

    BTW: I got your letter… Thank you! I might now be able to write back until I get back from my camping trip, but know that I haven’t forgotten you!

    Love ya!
    Cora

  2. Hmmmm… you could make a horror story out of that one! =D For a minute there I thought you were talking about yourself… >.>

    Good job! *clap clap*

  3. I thought this was great, Mirriam! I liked the way you spun off from the beginning sentence into an amusing-but-creepy introduction. I hate to be redundant, but the Razzleberry Crayola stood out to me, too.

  4. AHAHAHAHA! That’s so great! You ARE a very clever writer. That’s one thing I notice over and over again about you. You know how to involve the reader into the writing!
    Good job!

Got something to say?

