In which the author tries to describe the last weekend in a very belated fashion.

Last Friday I got to meet up with a great friend, Hannah. Our family and part of her family were going to our state’s annual Homeschool Convention, and we spent an exhausting, fun-filled two days together.

 (I’m the one on the right. She’s the one looking like a pirate =D And wearing my hat!)

The weekend began by me sneaking up on her in the huge lobby and tickling her from behind. She screamed so loud I’m surprised I still have eardrums, and after S.W.A.T. was called, we assured them everything was fine and they could go back to their business.

After that we went shopping in the vendor hall, and I bought (shocker of shockers) – BOOKS! Quite a few of them. King Arthur, George MacDonald, fairy tales – oh, it was so much fun. I even got to see an old friend whom I hadn’t seen in 10 years. Timothy has grown up – and can now juggle, a feat which, I am ashamed to say, I have yet to master. (I’m not co-ordinated enough. I can’t even… whistle. Okay, I’m joking, I can whistle. I just had to quote Veggie Tales).

Hannah and her mother got to spend the night at our house, and she and I talked until      4: 15 in the morning… needless to say, two hours’ sleep is NOT enough, even for me, so the next day, around 2:00 pm, it hit me. I could hardly keep my eyes open and nearly fell asleep during Ken Ham – and then, the sirens went off.

As in, fire sirens.

Everyone sat there, stunned, for about thirty seconds wondering “Is this a joke? Should we run?” Finally everybody got up and, in a surprisingly neat and orderly fashion, made it out to their cars. Because of this unexpected development, Hannah and I parted ways with an unusually small amount (by her standards 😉 of to-do.

For the next two days, I was extremely cranky. Apparently two hours’ sleep simply isn’t enough to keep me bright-eyed and bushy-tailed (go figure).

This week has been odd; I haven’t really gotten a lot done, but it’s been fun. I have many things on my reading list, some of which I’m currently reading, others I am about to start. For your amusement, entertainment, and/or distraction, I shall post them for you –

1. The Riddle-master Trilogy by Patricia McKillip – I’m about 1/3 of the way through this one, and really like it so far. However I don’t know how it ends, so I can’t give you a fell report yet.

2. J0yfully at Home by Jasmine Baucham – I love Jasmine, I love Jasmine’s blog, I love Jasmine’s book.

3. Beatrix  Potter: A Life in Nature by Linda Lear – I love this so far. I had just watched “Miss Potter” for the first time in a while – I love that movie, I adore Beatrix Potter’s books and art – and was very in the mood for a good biography. This one is proving to be very good.

4. Praying for your Future Husband: Preparing Your Heart for His – Robin Jones Gunn and Trisha Goyer – I am enjoying this. It’s a great study to do, by yourself or with a friend. Praying for our future spouse is SO important!

5. The Bible – of COURSE! I’m usually always in Psalms; it’s my favorite book of the Bible. During family bible study we’re going through Proverbs, my second favorite book of the Bible.

So there you have it, in short. I know this isn’t all-that-fascinating, but I DID draw some new pictures for those of you who haven’t seen them yet.

Murtagh

Anakin Skywalker (I like all the pictures but the bottom left. And I have since fixed Anakin bottom-right-corner’s nose.)

Allan a’Dale (BBC Robin Hood) I like this one.

Eiowing © Elizabeth Eiowing. This is one of her characters I drew, and I love how she turned out.

“Papa” © Millardthemk Jones. I drew this for a short story; it was a lot of fun =)

Emma Watson, with her stylish and sophisticated new haircut. (I think she’s beautiful!)

Some sort of faerie-like creature.

I sketched Jon Howe sketching! I showed it to him and he said he liked it, and he preferred the more ‘modest’ nose I gave him over his own. (And if you’re asking how I did this – Facebook. We actually talk on there sometimes O_O)

2 thoughts on “In which the author tries to describe the last weekend in a very belated fashion.

  1. AAAaaaaaaawwwwwwww!!!!!!!! *sniff*
    That was a blast! *faint*
    HM! It WAS a short parting! I didn’t even get to add all of the fun stuff to my letter! *pout*
    Anyway – maybe in August it’ll be a longer farewell! ^.^

    I love you, sis – ALWAYS!
    (And yeah yeah – I DO look like a pirate! *starts humming POTC)

    LOVE YA! ((((hugs))))

Got something to say?

