Oh, Frabjous Day…

Calloo, callay! Life has become SOOOOOOOOOO much fun. I mean, not that it wasn’t always. It’s just gotten funner (which IS a word, thankyouverymuch. Dictionary.com just doesn’t know it). Here is my list of things God has blessed me with recently – wooooot!

1. A publisher who wants my book, “The Shadows Fall,” when I’ve finished rewriting and editing it.

2. Several illustration jobs and an art commissioning business (if you’re on Facebook, find me as Mirriam Neal, artist and ‘like’!)

3.  My friend Hannah Nicole and I are writing a story back and forth in a notebook. FUN! Can’t wait! An exiled prince, a lost love, a prophetess… good times.

4. I’m doing an art trade + writing LONG letters with an awesome friend, Heather.

5. I’m working on getting a corrospondance with children permanently in hospitals! I’m so excited!

6. I am now on the staff of newsletter Ink and Fairydust!  I don’t always agree 100% with everything in it, but it’s my favorite newsletter ever, and I’m going to have a monthly column!! *happy dance*

Plus I have SO many other things to be thankful for – God, family, friends, the earth, weather, reading, writing, coffee, imagination, Peet the Sock Man… =) =)

My words to you today are – ENJOY LIFE!

And enjoy this section from my book, “The Shadows Fall.”

She neared the stables, braving her fears in the hopes of running into His Highness again hoping she might find Alec. She heard him before she saw him – or rather, she heard the twins.

            “No, no! Not like that – no! The reins! You’re not an – what are you doing!? Dismount!”

            “Other side!”

            “Never mind! Forget it! Put your feet in the stirrups!”

            “Grab the – URGH! NO!” bellowed Kael, vaulting over the pasture fence and running toward Alec, who was careening crazily around on horseback and going through the motions of something that resembled a sack of potatoes doing a high-wire act. He was leaning oddly to the side – and slipping father and farther.

            “ALEC!” Sienna screamed as her brother landed in an ungraceful heap on the ground. She scrambled up over the wooden fence, clearing it with a helpful pull from Thane, and the two ran over to her brother’s prostrate form. “Alec, are you okay?” she bent down and roughly shook his shoulder.

            A muffled answer came from him, and she let out a deep breath of air. “You scared me,” she remonstrated.

            He sat up, his face smeared with dirt and his hair sticking up crazily. “I scared myself,” he said, blowing a friendly blade of grass off of his face. He grinned at her. “Don’t worry, nothing broken,” he said, standing. “Where is that beast?”

            “Here,” called Thane, who had left to catch the horse and was now walking back with the animal in tow, looking as meek and mild as a baby chick.

            Alec stalked over to the horse and snatched the reins from Thane. “Thanks,” he said, then glared directly into the horse’s soft brown eyes. “You listen here, you rebel scum,” he commanded, “I am going to ride you whether you like it or not, and I’m going to do it before tomorrow. You and I have a long journey ahead of us, and I’d like to not get dumped every five yards or so. Understand?” He tugged sharply on the horse’s forelock for emphasis, and the animal nickered and nudged the boy’s stomach with his muzzle.

            “Will you look at this!?” Alec hollered over to the other three, pointing at the horse. “Look at it! The picture of innocence! It’s disgusting.” He got himself into the saddle with some difficulty, red-faced and panting. “Come on,” he said to the animal, giving it a kick in the ribs. “Trot!”

            The animal lunged forward in a springy gait that had Alec looking very much like a fifty-cent bouncing ball. “Whoa!” He sawed at the reins, and the horse backed up. “No!” he said, frustrated, “STOP!”

            The animal planted its feet and came to a stop so sudden that Alec was nearly thrown forward. He grabbed the horse’s neck and sat back in the saddle, grinning proudly at Sienna, who grinned back and waved.

            “I think I’ve almost got it!” Alec shouted, and was off again, and Sienna could only hope that he didn’t break his neck before they left tomorrow.

16 thoughts on “Oh, Frabjous Day…

  1. That is SO AMAZING! Good good good for you 🙂 I’m so glad! You have to let me know how everything goes 😀
    Awww ;P Thanks! And long letters indeed ;P
    I’ve started my part of the art trade, but I think I’m redoing it ’cause it’s gotta be AWESOME!
    Random, but: do you reccomend starting an art blog for exposure? Has it helped you?
    I got your Shadows’ first three chapters email! CAN’T WAIT TO READ IT!

  2. 🙂 your snippet made me smile!

    Which publishing company is interested in your book? That’s fabulous!

    P.S. I’m not sure if I’m going to be self-publishing my next book or not, but if so, would you be able to take a commission on the cover art? Just a thought I had this morning. It would be a while.

  3. Still nothing about meeting me. Humph. I guess I’m not that important…

    I love Peet the Sock Man, he’s the best. =D I that whole series is awesome(even though I haven’t read the second book yet, my library doesn’t have it. Grrr. )! I liked Peet the moment he was introduced.

    The excerpt is great Mirriam! I’m still waiting on the third chapter though… not to be impatient or anything but it’s been since last year…

    In Christ,
    Emily

    P.S. I hope we can get together again the next time I go down there!

  4. HEEEEEEEEEEEEYYYYYYYYYY!!! Sorry for not commenting/emailing sooner. ;( 😦 Too busy to believe! 🙂

    Love that wallie! Where’dya get it? 🙂 🙂

    Love & Hugs & Muchsy Love & Muchsy Hugs,
    Ara (Awel Prince)

Got something to say?

