Book Survey

WOOT!  This was supposed to be for NaNo, but I stole it and made it into a survey for my current book, The Shadows Fall. Enjoy =)

  1. What’s your word count? 58, 415
    2. How long until you finish? I have no idea. I’m rewriting, which is a blast since I already have the ‘blueprints’ for how I want it to go, but have more room to add/subtract stuff. It’s also harder in a way, looking out for any mistakes, etc.
    3. If you have finished, how long did it take you? See above comment.
    4. Do you have an outline? Yes, see above-above comment.
    5. Do you have a plot? Yes! And twists are always coming!! (I ♥ Plot Twists)
    6. How many words do you typically write a day? Mmmm… ordinarily, when I can and am inspired? 2,000. Un-inspired days? 200.
    7. What was your greatest word count in one day? Mmmm, like 6,000 I think.
    8. What was your least impressive word count in one day? Zero. =)
    9. What inspired you to write? The Lord of the Rings and the Door Within trilogy. And since then, everything!!

10. Does your novel have a theme song? Yes – the vocal one is “Keep Holding On” by Avril Lavigne. The Musical ones are “The Truth of Legend” by Kevin MacLeod and “The Shaping of the World” by Jason Hayes.
11. Assign each of your major characters a theme song. Whoa.Okay. The whole group – “Shield of Faith” by Immediate Music. Sienna – Divenere by Einaudi and Bella’s Lullaby by Carter Burtwell. Eristor – Serenata (choir) by Immediate Music and The Reluctant Warrior by the same. Oscariath – Goliath by Immediate Music and Pompeii by E. S. Posthumus.  Caranthir – Legends by Jason Hayes. Sahäla – Dun Morogh by Jason Hayes. Eilam – The Prophet by X-ray Dog. Tylir – Heartbeat of a Man by X-ray Dog. Joran – Fundamentum by Lesiem. Raéta – Shadowfax by A Thousand Teardrops. Amar – Here Comes the King by X-ray Dog. Zarug – Dark Side of Power by Immediate Music. The Twins – Elwynn Forest by Jason Hayes. Salebeth – “Acts of Courage” by X-ray Dog. Sienna/Eristor – “My Confession” and “In Her Eyes” by Josh Groban. Triumph (good-over-evil) theme – “Generations” by Immediate Music.

. 12. Which character is most like you? Sienna.
13. Which character would you most likely be friends with? Hmmm… I’d WANT to be friends with almost everyone in the first book! But in the Shadows Lengthen, I would want to befriend Tanin. And in The Shadows Gather/The Shadows Fade, Zarug.
14. Do you have any Gary-Stu’s or Mary Sue’s? Hmmm…. Well, at the moment, Sienna’s last name is Hunter. That’s a bit Mary Sue-ish. And Eristor… well, he doesn’t *sparkle*, but he’s awfully good-looking, with a tortured background. Sue me if that’s my favorite kind of character *grin*
15. Who is your favorite character in your novel? Goodness. Eristor, definitely. But I love everybody (even my villains. Somebody has to!)
16. Have your characters ever done something completely unexpected? Oh, millions of times. They take off. I’m just their secretary.
17. Have you based any of your novel directly on personal experiences? Heh heh heh… Sienna’s pretty much me (only in a much more interesting setting). So while the direct experiences often aren’t, her thoughts and feelings are.
18. Do you believe in plot bunnies? *gathp* Not believing in Plot Bunnies is atrocious! Outrageous! Unacceptable!
19. Is there magic in your novel? No. Powers, yes – Amar has powers (after all, he’s the allegorical God) and so do his angels. Oscariath has them to a lesser extent (allegorical Satan) and his Malakh (dark angels) have some, too.
20. Are any holidays celebrated in your novel? Holidays? Well, the Turn of the Year is in the next one, and I may have to steal a friend’s idea and add Midwinter’s Eve because it sounds so beautiful. There is also, of course, Midsummer Day.
21. Does anyone die? HA! You want me to tell you? Sorry. You’ll just have to read the book ^_^
22. How many cups of coffee/tea have you consumed during your writing experience? Hundreds. Literally. Considering I’ve been writing since I was thirteen.
23. What is the latest have you stayed up writing? Oh, midnight-ish. Sometimes when I can’t sleep I write, but that’s not really  ‘staying up’ writing, is it? Us Mad Writers need help, I can tell you that. COFEE! More! More!
24. What is the best line? Best line? Well, my Mom likes Arie’s line, “You cannot fight darkness with steel. Only light can cause darkness to flee.” Me, I happen to like “Humans are all weak.” Ha. Snarky Eristor. ^_^
25. What is the worst line? HEY! Now you’re getting personal! I don’t HAVE a worse line. *humph*

26. Have you dreamed about your novel or its characters? *sighs* Not that I can recall. Which really isn’t fair, since I’d love to. I think it’s my characters paying me back for being so cruel to them. *reminds them that they DO get a happy ending – most of them*
27. Does your novel rely heavily on allegory? Ha – yes! =) There are the usual allegorical themes, though I hope I’ve done something new with the tale. =)
28. Summarize your novel in under fifteen words. Siblings, friends, enemies, two worlds, good and evil, light and shadows, betrayal, heroes, villains, victory.

29. Do you love all your characters? Weeeelll… Oscariath is pretty difficult to love, seeing as how he’s pretty much evil Incarnate. But another villain Caranthir, I have pity for… he wasn’t always like this. So I hate Oscariath but have a soft spot for Caranthir. =) I do NOT have a soft spot for Sardis. Blech.
30. Have you done something sadistic or cruel to your characters specifically to increase your word count? Heh heh. No, not specifically. But who says I can’t do sadistic and cruel things to them for other reasons?
31. What was the last thing your main character ate? Duuuuuhh… Sienna drank drugged spiced wine…? YIKES! They haven’t been eating! Or going to the bathroom, or sneezing, or hiccupping, for that matter…. But I’d say it’s okay to leave that out of books <_<
32. Describe your main character in three words. … O_O That’s like telling me to describe myself in three words. Impossible. I’ll just say this – most of the girls who’ve read my book (at least the *terrible* last version) identified a lot with her. =)

33. What would your antagonist dress up as for Halloween? She doesn’t do Halloween. However, if she were at a costume party, it’d probably be something really pretty, with a masquerade mask and a fancy ball gown. Because she’d LOVE to go to a masque.
34. Does anyone in your story go to a place of worship? Well, there’s the Temple of Dagon, in Skubalon… but you wouldn’t want to go there unless you were evil. Like Oscariath and the Malakh. Worship of Amar takes place anywhere =)

35. How many romantic relationships take place in your novel? One… two… another former that one party died… and three. Three and one half. =) (Well, okay. Four. I just remembered another one. Hey, so what if I’m a sucker for a good romance? =)
36. Are there any explosions in your novel? Uh…. Explosive anger, yes. Explosions don’t show up until the big battle in the last book =)


37. Is there an apocalypse in your novel? No. Big battle, yes – but not apocalyptic.
38. Does your novel take place in a post-apocalyptic world? No. I might, however, write a book about a Dystopian world some day. I’ve always thought it was interesting.
39. Are there zombies, vampires or werewolves in your novel? Creatures of Were, yes. Zombies? No. Vampires? No. I guess you could say I’ve got werewolves, but they’re not typical werewolves. They don’t turn back and forth – they’re more like talking, anthropomorphic animals. But they’re not all anthropomorphic. *rolls eyes* Just read the book! =)
40. Are there witches, wizards or mythological creatures/figures in your novel? Well, there’s an evil priest who THINKS he’s wizard-like in the second book, and there are…. Hmm. Centaurs show up, and winged horse-creatures, and maybe a dragon or two, and the creatures of were… but not strictly mythological. No Medusa or anything.
41. Is anyone reincarnated? Um… I haven’t decided yet =) Since Wayne Batson stole my idea (I still haven’t forgiven him for that yet) in the Door Within trilogy, probably not. *huff*
42. Is anyone physically ailed? Uhm… weeelll… I can’t tell you. They’re keeping it a secret so far =)

43. Is anyone mentally ill? Mentally ill? The Priest, yeah. You’d have to say so. Caranthir is sort of, but it’s more like his mind has been overtaken by Oscariath. He used to be a good guy. Oscariath is definitely mentally ill. Alec is debatable XD (Sorry. Had to say it).
44. Does anyone have swine flu? HA! No. =)
45. Who has pets in your novel and what are they? Heh heh – Sienna gets a little white fuzzy ball of fluff (think Tribble with feet, HUGE eyes, and a HUGE mouth). She loves it. It annoys Eristor to no end because it loves him, too. =)
46. Are there angels, demons, or any religious references/figures in your novel? The Malakh are like demons, and then there’s the angels (which I still haven’t figured a name out for yet). And there’s Amar and Oscariath – God and Satan, figuratively.
47. How about political figures? Oooooohhh… no. But that’s not a bad idea. Give my villains the characteristics of politicians. Then they’d REALLY be unlikeable! …okay, so they’re not ALL like that. Just lots. And to answer the question, no. I hadn’t ever thought of it =)
48. Is there incessant drinking? Incessant? No. Wine is consumed, and people are drunk, but nobody gets drunk. Not even the dwarves. Though Centaur bachelors would, if they could get their hands on ale. =)
49. Are there board games? If so, which ones? No. (Ithilwen, I resent that quip about couch potatoes! I play board AND card games. And I’m not a couch potato. I’m a bed sprout. And an up-and-coming computer geek. NOT a couch potato. Thankyouverymuch).
50. Are there any dream sequences? =) Yes. Though they’re more vision-like.
51. Is there humor? Others seem to think so =D Alec usually starts it. The twins don’t help any =)

52. Is there tragedy? Oh, definitely! Betrayal, treachery, death. Mwahahahahah. But it wouldn’t be heart-wrenching without it, would it? A clue: No. So I pile it up. =)
53. Does anyone have a temper tantrum? Well, Sienna blows up at Eristor once or twice… he deserves it, of course, but still. And the twins… weeellll, you could say they take temper tantrums to another level in The Shadows Lengthen. =)
54. How many characters end up single at the end of your novel? …well, all but six. ^_^ (At the moment).

55. Is anyone in your novel adopted? Adopted? Well, a giant has been somewhat adopted by a dwarf. =)
56. Does anyone in your novel wear glasses? No, I find glasses don’t really go with this particular book =)
57. Has your novel provided insight about your life? Some =)
58. Your personality? To keep believing in God, and that most people aren’t what they seem on the outside. They can be total jerks, but inside they’ve got hearts of gold or have tragic pasts. =) And that holding it all inside doesn’t work well in the end.

59. Has your novel inspired anyone? Well, I’ve had a few people say so =)
60. How many people have asked to read your novel? Let’s see… Not counting family: Ithilwen, Awel, Keaghan, Emily, Olivia, Heather, Jake, Hannah, and Hannah, and Hannah, and Kendra, and a couple others I’ve forgotten (my apologies!). If you want to read it as I go along, you can email me. =)
61. Have you drawn any of your characters? Yes! Sahäla, and Eristor, and the Twins… I’m going to have to re-draw them all now. My drawing skills have improved since then =)

62. Has anyone drawn your characters for you? Awel Prince and Ithilwen designed outfits for my characters =)
63. Does anyone vomit in your novel? Uh… no. And if they did, it would be called ‘retching.’ It’s more polite. =)
64. Does anyone bleed in your novel? Ahem. Yes. Quite a bit. Several people.
65. Do any of your characters watch TV? Try to explain TV to them. Hah. =) Only Sienna and Alec have (and their friends and family, but they’re almost nonexistent until The Shadows Gather/The Shadows Fade).
66. What size shoe does your main character wear? Well, um… they don’t have sizes in Elmeria. They’re all custom-made =)
67. Do any of the characters in your novel use a computer? HO HO HO! No, but the author does 😀

68. How would you react if your novel was erased entirely? I would scream and cry and be distressed for a month of Mondays and Tuesdays and Wednesdays and wouldn’t have the heart to try it again, until a year had passed and I couldn’t help but re-start. Of course this won’t happen, as it’s saved in a million places, plus on Vic, my USB drive, and in my email, and in a draft post on my blog, and… =)
69. Did you cry at killing off any of your characters? Oh goodness L Yes.
70. Did you cheer when killing off one of your characters? I WILL! When Oscariath dies! WOOOT! And the Priest, oh yeah!
71. What advice would you give to a fellow writer? Just WRITE. And meditate – not like in Zen, or when you’re reading the Bible. When you get in idea, let it spark another, which will spark another, and voila! A whole new plot!
72. Describe your ending in three words. Victory, courage, realizations.
73. Are there any love triangles, squares, hexagons, etc.? Mmmmm… not really, no. =)
74. On a scale of 1-10 (1 being the least stressful, 10 being the most) how does your stress rank? Stress? Writing is stress-RELIEVING! Unless I’m in a very tense part! *fans face* Then it escalates a bit. But usually, I’m a 1. I love writing =)
75. Was it worth it? OH yes!!! Way worth it!!!!!!!

16 thoughts on “Book Survey

  1. ha, ha! I don’t even know what I had put down about games! 🙂 LOL! I wasn’t calling anyone in real life a couch potato though 🙂

    WOW! Who has Midwinter’s Eve?! *blinks sadly* I thought I was the only one to use that *blinks sadly*

        • you can use the idea. I don’t mind… I thought someone *else* came up with the idea before I did– you know… I’m always coming up with ideas and then finding out other people used them 😥 I blame myself for not having enough genious to be brilliant enough to come up with my own ideas! 🙂 But YOU can use it… I thought someone else besides us had come up with the idea!! 🙂

  2. #43 & #46 pretty much sum up my entire novel. Speaking of which, have you gotten around to finishing what I’ve sent you yet? No pressure, I was just wondering if I should send you my next chapter. P.S. You ought to call me Luthian or Fibonacci (the people looking for me might trace my location through my real name on your blog; besides, I have faerie friends with whom it is always better to communicate by alias, and they know I am in contact with you).

    • ACK! NO! NOT YET! Now that our computer time is down to 15 minutes per day, I don’t know how I’m going to manage it *wails* WAIT! I can just save it in my documents and read it in my offline time… HAHA! WOOT! I’ll get to work on it ASAP!

  3. I knew I was not the only one to cry when I killed my characters! I still feel bad when I remember a horse I had to kill, and that was almost two years ago ^^

    Now I’m all worried about who you killed, though…

  4. Nice! 😀
    I chuckled when I read your answer to the question about what the characters ate last. I rarely include details of what they eat. 😉 I think in the whole course of VJ I’ve only mentioned/described their food…three times? And in the first chapters of VP, I’ve done it once, because it added to the atmosphere of the scene. I don’t like to insert long descriptions of their food most of the time because it interrupts the story’s flow…

  5. Sienna/Eristor – “My Confession” and “In Her Eyes”

    …replace names and you’ve got the same plot….;P =D
    I can’t wait to read your book, Unni! It’ll be so neat! (Like I said… I want a SIGNED copy!;)

    -Yeondongseng

Got something to say?

