Cozy Literature and Peppermint Tea

 Winter is the perfect season to be literary.

Well, winter and fall.

And since I know most of my fellow bloggers are avid readers, I thought I’d do a post on one of my favorite subjects. Hint – they’re ocasionally bound with leather, they’re filled with paper, overflowing with words, and work as personal teleporters to other worlds.

Books! Who doesn’t love to curl up with a good book and a cup of tea? I have peppermint tea at the moment because I have laryngitis so badly I can hardly talk. Therefore, the remedies are – tea, books, and writing materials. So, I will share some of my favorite books with you, and hope that you enjoy them as much as I have.

1. Emily of New Moon by L. M. Montgomery

I don’t like the Anne of Green Gables books. I couldn’t ever get into them. But these books are wonderful. Emily is like an old friend, and you travel with her as she writes, experiences love and loss, and lives life to the fullest.  The writing is beautiful, and the books are simply inspiring.

2. The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Graham

I don’t know what it is ab0ut this book – it’s like an older version of Beatrix Potter and I just love it to death.

3.  Little Women/Good Wives by L. M. Alcott

These are the ultimate ‘cozy’ books. When we were younger, we would try to tag each other with ‘who was the most like which March sister.’ I ended up being a healthy mix of Joe and Amy, with a dash of Meg. No Beth, though. =)

4. The Hollow Kingdom Trilogy

Probably my favorite trilogy ever. Beauty and the Beast with a twist. =)

5. Beauty by Robin McKinley

GREAT version of Beauty and the Beast!

6. Snow White and Rose Red (and the following books)

These books are imaginative, really well-written, exciting, fun, and all-together engulfing. Excellent books.

7. The Chronicles of Narnia

Who doesn’t love Narnia?

8. Fairy-tale Books

I love reading fairy tales. They give you all sorts of writing ideas, not to mention the wonderful happy endings (as long as you don’t read Brothers Grimm versions. O_O)

9. Alice in Wonderland/Through the Looking Glass

Crazy books, but they do an excellent job of returning you to childhood.

10. The Penderwicks

Laugh along with the rollicking Penderwicks in a very enjoyable story about a very quirky family.

I hope ten suggestions will keep you rolling through dreary winter days… if you want more, check out my book review blog *The Book Fae for more suggestions!

* Trusted by readers since 2009

5 thoughts on “Cozy Literature and Peppermint Tea

  1. Tea and a favorite old book sound really nice right now. 🙂 I love The Penderwicks…it’s a such a, I don’t know, happy book. Oh, and can you believe I STILL haven’t read Alice in Wonderland?! I guess seeing as I’m short of a good book, now would be the time to do so…XD

    At least you don’t have the flu.:) (If that’s any consolation, which it might not be. :D)

  2. ‘the bookstores start closing
    when Mirriam’s in town
    till she pulls out her Visa
    and throws money all around…
    this Peppermint Winter is so surgar sweet,
    I don’t need to taste to believe,
    what’s December without Christmas Eve?’

    Can you tell I’m in an Owl City Mood? 🙂 Ah! I love books!! 🙂 I’m reading Hornblower right now!! 🙂 Well, TECHNICALLY– I’m going off to visit my world! 🙂

  3. The Brothers’ Grimm fairy tales…have you ever read The Death of the Hen?
    The last line in the story (one line I sometimes quote when referring to story endings like Hamlet’s): And then everybody was dead. 🙂

    • Classic Grimm for you! *shakes head* I feel the urge to quote “Dragon Slayers” – “No wonder this kid’s a live wire! Children should NOT be reading stuff like this!” 😄

Got something to say?

