from PluggedIn.com –

“A new study from the Barna Group finds that teens are the most religiously active Americans, with nearly 60% engaged in a spiritual activity each week. The study also shows that 13- to 17-year-old Protestants show signs of increased religious engagement, including participation in prayer, Bible reading, church and youth group activity. That said, today’s Christian teens are also much less likely to have a spiritual conversation about their faith with a nonbeliever than teens were in 1997. Barna Group president David Kinnaman says, “Christian teenagers are taking cues from a culture that has made it unpopular to make bold assertions about faith or be too aggressively evangelistic.”

Hmm.

I’ve got a question now.

If we’re the salt of the earth…

If we’re the warriors for Christ…

If we’re supposed to shine God’s light…

…then why are we afraid of what others will think? We’re afraid to be ‘too aggressively evangelistic?’

That’s what we’re HERE for, people! To be God for everyone around us! I don’t want to get to Heaven and have God say “You can go in, and I love you – but there is so much more you could have done for Me.”

Don’t be afraid to mention God. When talking to people, if someone says that their grandmother was healed from a bad sickness, say “God is good, isn’t he?” WEAR Christian things. But if you proclaim Christ by what you wear, remember that you have to act upon it. It isn’t a very good effect if you wear a T-shirt that says “God is Good” and you’re stomping around, dissing your parents, yelling at your siblings, and raining on everyone’s parade.

Don’t be afraid to live for Christ! It’s our purpose – and He deserves our all!

9 thoughts on “

  1. I was thinking about this subject when I was discussing some things with my dad and siblings- totally true. Thanks for bringing it back to my (and everyone elses) attention 😀

  2. So True!!!!!!!!! But In my personal opinion, if you wear christian things, you should avoid wearing shirts, etc. that have copied a secular slogan (i.e. Got Jesus?) because they seem to say, “Hey, look! God can be cool just like the world!”. God doesn’t WANT to be just like the world, and He certainly isn’t trying to be cool! And if you have a fish or Christian bumper sticker on your car, for crying out loud, WATCH HOW YOU DRIVE! Even that is a witness, for good OR for evil, it is up to you!

  3. Hi Mirriam,

    I am all about standing up for what you believe, but I would say that there is a fine line between living your beliefs and being so excited about them that others are turned off by the display. I’ve made the mistake myself.

  4. Very good observations, Mirriam. We are not to be ashamed of the Gospel of Christ and even being silent is a form of that. It is going to get a lot harder to share the Gospel and stand up for our faith. A college student has been expelled from a counseling program for refusing to change her Christian beliefs about homosexuality and submit to “brainwashing”. This is going on all over our country. We have now come to the place where our society at large is calling good evil and evil good. Woe unto us.

  5. I wholeheartedly agree, Mirriam. I was just thinking about something similiar the other day when I was listening to the Casting Crowns song “If We are the Body.” (I think that’s the title…great song that goes along with this post.XD) Excellent.:)

  6. awesome. I agree! I want to Shine God’s Light through my life. Through EVERYTHING that i do. My Mom always reminds me that you don’t have to go to foreign countries to minister to people. It’s true, that they really need God’s help. But THEY need it just as much as your neighbor across the way. And the Best way to give them Jesus is to Glorify Him in your every day life.
    I love this song By Keith Green!
    People smile at me and ask me what it is
    That makes them want to be just like i am
    So i just point to you and tell them, yes it’s true
    I’m no special one, i’m just one man

  7. Amen! 🙂
    The world is disintegrating before our eyes, and we–the younger generation–especially need to realize that and take action!
    There’s a worship song circulating right now that has the following lines in the second verse: “I see a generation/Rising up to take their place/With selfless faith/With selfless faith.” We are that generation, and we HAVE to shine for Him!

    May He give us the strength we need to never back down and never give up!

    ~Lady Avarona~

Got something to say?

