Make Believe Day 3: The best versions of Peter Pan!

I grew up watching a very, very old version of Peter Pan – I couldn’t even find it on Wikipedia! It was not the silent version, but one very soon after that starring a woman as Peter Pan (I remember giggling with my sister, going “Look! You can even see the black string holding her up!”) and Tigerlilly was… blond?

And then when I was about six, I first saw the Disney animated version of Peter Pan – and I was… well, Hooked!

After that, my sister found a version of Cathy Rigby’s portrayal of Peter Pan at the library. I thought “Oh, joy… do we HAVE to!?” And she went “Yes!” So I forced myself to watch it and actually laughed a LOT in it! She was amazingly agile, tumbling, doing gymnastics… ah, bliss…

And then came the sequel to the Disney Peter Pan – Return to Neverland!

 

I remember thinking “Well… Jane’s a brat, but… it’s still fun!” And the octopus was great… 🙂 And then we gooootttt…

The way we got to watch this is actually rather humorous – this was when we still enjoyed the Cathy Rigby version. One day, Mom and Dad were asleep, but my sister and I had ants in our pants, wanting to watch the “new Peter Pan!!!!” so we woke Dad up and said “Dad! Can we watch the human Peter Pan?” Of course, he thought we meant the Cathy Rigby version and said “Sure…” so we watched the new version! Mom came out and said “Wha… who said you could watch that!?” (I personally had never seen a man get run through with a hook before, and was thinking it was all rather gory to my young eyes, but was really enjoying it) and we said “YOU did!!”

So after everything got (reasonably) straightened out, we watched it again… and again… it’s definitely my favorite version, although a romance between two thirteen-year-olds is a little ridiculous =)

It wasn’t until about a year ago that I watched HOOK for the first time!

I remember going “…uh, Mom, it’s Robin Williams.” Once again, I thought “Oh, brother” as we started it. But I actually really ended up enjoying it – “Bangarang!” is a very frequently used word in this house =) And sometimes, to make my sister laugh, I’ll say in this really over-the-top voice, “What fun, what laughs, what GREAT TIMES!!!!”

Once, actually, I was in church and was sitting next to one my older friends, Sarah. Her brother, Jake, was on her other side, and we were having an insult war on sheets of paper, passing them back and forth. And um *cough* I, very innocently, called him a “Math tutor.” For some reason, he started laughing (quietly, we were in Church – and yes, I did get talked to for doing this in church) and I was like “What!?” and he showed it to Sarah, who stared at me in a funny way and said “I’m a math tutor!” and we all three were pretty much hysterical… so, anyway…

Good times =)

Which is your favorite version?

5 thoughts on “Make Believe Day 3: The best versions of Peter Pan!

  1. You mean to say you only watched Hook last year! We actually tapped it off the TV. And yeah I like most of those versions of Peter Pan too!
    Love,
    Vellvin.

  2. I think “Hook” is my favorite Peter Pan movie. Ironic.

    It’s been YEARS since I saw the original Disney version. Maybe I should dig it out again… I always loved the home under the ground as a kid… and the flying scene.

  3. I’m a billion days late on this… but… I really want to make my own Peter Pan post now. Isn’t it the most epic thing?

    The cartoon, and the musical (with Cathy Rigby) have a special place in my heart. Though my favorite was actually a youth theater group that I’m actually a part of now. The guy who played Peter was AMAZING. They did the musical which Cathy Rigby did, and everyone was perfect for the parts they played. (Trust me, I can tell when a person isn’t the best.)

    I’ve seen all of these! I’m one of the biggest Pan fans out there. A couple years ago a miniseries called Neverland came out (two episodes.) It’s about Peter before he becomes Peter Pan, and how he goes the first time, and whatnot. It was pretty good, though Peter was a little old for my tastes. I’ve also read the book, and a book written based on it, etc. 😉

Got something to say?

