Who am I vs. Here am I

I woke up at 6: 45 this morning – I didn’t meant too, my alarm didn’t go off or anything. So I grabbed my Bible, notebook, my copy of Lies Young Women Believe and the fiction book I’m currently reading and came downstairs. I went through my normal ritual  – turned the coffeepot on, turned the computer on.

But the birds sounded SO pretty, and the weather wasn’t too humid, so I dried off the chair and table on the deck and did my Bible study out there. I’m reading all over the place, but decided to do Isaiah ch. 6 this morning, since that’s where I was the last time I read.

I came to this verse: “Also I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, Whom shall I send, and who will go for us? Then said I, Here am I; send me.” v. 8

This is a stark contrast to Moses’ answer in Exodus Chapter 3, verse 11. the Lord has just told Moses to save his people from the Egyptians. “And Moses said unto God, Who am I, that I should go unto Pharaoh, and that I should bring forth the children of Israel out of Egypt?”

Oh, brother. We read these two different accounts and tend to lean toward Isaiah’s response, don’t we? “Of course, if you asked me to go into Egypt my answer would be “Woohoo, yes! Right away, Lord! Just point me in the right direction! I can’t wait!” *bounce bounce bounce*

It would probably tend to be more like Moses’. “Eeuuuhh… really? Me? Why me?” To quote Ken Davis, “Get Charleton Heston to do it!!”

But Moses doesn’t stop at “Who am I?” He goes on to make up a whole list of lame excuses. “They wouldn’t listen to me!” “I don’t talk that great, you know, Lord…” “They don’t like me!” Which, of course, leads back to “Who am I?”

And you know w hat?

God sends him anyway.

Moses ends up becoming one of the greatest leaders in History, and it all started with “Who am I?”

Isaiah, being a prophet and an all-around “Bible Person” is less inspiring than Moses, who was just as whiny, wimpy, and reluctant to be led by God as we all are.

God can do great things with you – but it’s much easier when you go along with Him. There’s a Petticoat Junction quote where one of the daughters, Bobbi-Jo, says “Mom, have you decided what you want me to be?”

“No, dear.”

“Well, when you do, just tell me. I don’t want to spend a lot of time fighting it.”

This is a lot like we are with God – we don’t want to be used by Him. I mean, gasp, that might put us out a little! We’re pathetic, we really are. So when God calls, will you say “Who am I?” or “Here am I?” Trust me, it’ll be easier just to say “Here am I” without trying to struggle. Because really, God created you for something, and you wouldn’t want to miss it, would you?

2 thoughts on “Who am I vs. Here am I

  1. Very thought provoking! Thanks for sharing your Bible study this morning. I will be thinking and wrestle on that question all day.

Got something to say?

