Mother

If you look at the Dictionary’s definition of ‘mother,’ you’ll find it says something very profound.

–noun 1.

a female parent.

That really doesn’t tell us much, does it? It covers the technical side of things, but not the real essence of what a mother is. A mother is someone who nurtures you, watches over you, loves you even when you are totally unloveable. A mother is always on your side, even though you don’t always know it. A mother does much more than give birth to you and make sure you stay alive, a mother tends your soul as well. A mother is the such a precious thing to God – Jesus had a mother, even though His mother was not much older than I am. But you know how it is – we begin taking our mothers for granted. Day after day, they do the laundry, plan our school work, do the shopping, cook the meals. And we take it for granted much too often. Girls (and guys) –  never, ever take your mothers for granted.

I want to tell you all that I have a very special mother. God has blessed me so greatly with a mother who dreams and supports my dreams, who looks ahead, who sacrifices so much to give us all food, learning, and clothes. Now I’m not saying that fathers aren’t just as big a part in this, but this is Mother’s day and I’m not talking about fathers. Through the years I have learned interesting things about my mother, and I have barely scratched the surface. Even though at times we clash, we really are very much alike. My mother loves the forest, she loves to read, she loves to learn. In her heart, she really is no older than I am. She once said “When you get older you don’t feel older, you just look older. And hopefully, you’ve learned something.” My mother has supported everything I’ve done throughout my sixteen years – when I was ten and wanted to be a doctor, she brought me all sorts of things from Q-tips to disinfectant wipes. When I was twelve and wanted to be an olympic Show Jumper, she got me riding lessons. Ever since I was five and taught myself to read, she has been supplying me with book after book after book. (If it weren’t for her, I would never have picked up on how to read. Really, she taught me, she just didn’t know it). Now that I want to be an author, she has supported me every step of the way. She encourages me, gives me ideas and advice, gives me good books to fuel my imagination, she edits my things, she gives me her honest opinion, she looks for publishing companies.

I’m amazed that with every new thing  I pick up, from collecting dead bugs when I was seven to learning elvish when I was fifteen, that she didn’t say “What, again? Can’t you find something useful to enjoy!?”

Now I see that everything I did has helped to shape me and make me who I am. My love of doctoring when I was little led me to the love of herbs and wildcrafting, now I’m a certified Family Herbalist. I would NEVER have thought I could get there – and it was all because of my mother. And that kind of knowledge has funneled into my books, popping up in odd places. Learning elvish has helped me to create my own language for centaurs, and has helped me think up names for people and places. Thanks to her I have read hundreds and thousands of books, all of which have fueled my imagination and furthered my writing.

I remember once,  I fell off my bicycle in the driveway and skinned my knees. It wasn’t that bad, but it was extremely painful, and even though I tried to bear up (I was, after all, the very mature age of eleven). She came out and gave me a hug, made sure I was okay. Afterwards, I told her that hug was ‘my favorite hug.’ I don’t know why, I just felt it.

When she had her heart attack, I was more scared than I had ever been in my whole life up till then. I prayed harder than I’d ever prayed before, that God wouldn’t let her die. I remember calling all my friends and asking them to pray, too – I posted about it, emailed about it, gathering a prayer army to keep her alive. You all came through, and thanks to you my Mom is still alive.

My mother has died. Her heart totally stopped. But God brought her back, and now she is here with us, healthier than she was before her heart attack. I love my mother.

Mom, I can’t imagine my life without you. Thank you so much for always being there for me, for being so fun, and for being so absolutely supportive of everything I do. I can’t imagine a better mother, and wouldn’t want any other one. Even though we don’t always agree, and even though I can be really horrible, you always forgive me and love me just the same.  And one last thing – go HERE to listen to a song that puts it all in perspective.

I can’t put into words what I want to say, but I’ll do my best. Here goes –

Thank you, Mom.

I love you.

2 thoughts on “Mother

  1. Mirriam – that is absolutely the most beautiful thing I have ever read. What I wouldn’t give to have my daughter feel that way about me.

    Your mom must be very, very proud of you. Please give her a hug for me and tell her Happy Mother’s Day from one mom to another.

  2. I know–it seems impossible to tell her everything that she means to you.

    I had the same thing happen to me yesterday. I wanted so much to tell my mom how grateful I was…And I, too, ended up using that song to show her my heart.

    And think about it–our moms are so much more than moms, Earwen–they’re our teachers!

    ~Avarona~

Got something to say?

